Counter Culture. 25 Years Sammlung Falckenberg. Objects and Installations

Cat. Sammlung Falckenberg / Deichtorhallen Hamburg

Exhibition catalogue, edited by Dirk Luckow, Harald Falckenberg
texts (German/English) by Harald Falckenberg, Belinda Grace Gardner, Dirk Luckow, Stephanie Regenbrecht
192 p with 200 coloured illustrations
290 x 215 mm, softcover

ISBN 978-3-86442-308-6

39,80 €

It All Begins with Installations

On the occasion of the 25th anniversary of the Falckenberg Collection, Deichtorhallen ­Hamburg/Falckenberg Collection will present a comprehensive exhibition focusing on instal­lation and sculptural works from the collection. The exhibition presents around 100 works by over 60 inter­nationally renowned artists, some of which have already been on loan to the Centre Pompidou, PS1, ­Walker Art Center, Tate Modern, MoMA New York, MOCA Los Angeles or the Venice and Shanghai Biennales. For the first time, these works will now be brought to­gether in a large ­survey exhibition at the Falckenberg Collection in Hamburg-Harburg. Some of the exhibits will be on display for the first time in the Phoenix ­Hallen in Harburg. Many of the works on show, such as Jon Kessler’s multimedia installation »The Palace at 4 A.M.«, have been carefully ­restored especially for this exhibition and thus made newly accessible for visitors. In addition, the permanent installations at the Falckenberg Collection by ­Jonathan Meese, Thomas Hirschhorn and John Bock are an integral part of the show.

Vito Acconci, Franz Ackermann, Richard Artschwager, Karla Black, John Bock, Olaf Breuning, Björn Dahlem, Mark Dion, Jimmie Durham, General Idea, Thomas Grünfeld, Georg Herold, Thomas Hirschhorn, Mike Kelley, Jon Kessler, Martin Kippenberger, Jean-Jacques Lebel, Sherrie Levine/Joost van Oss, Sarah Lucas, Paul McCarthy, Jonathan Meese, Bjarne Melgaard, Ernesto Neto, Tony Oursler, Nam June Paik, Manfred Pernice, Robert Rauschenberg, Jason Rhoades, Christoph Schlingensief, Thomas Schütte, Roman Signer, Jessica Stockholder, Diana Thater, Paul Thek, Gavin Turk, Atelier van Lieshout, Peter Welz, Cosima von Bonin, Rebecca Warren, Franz West, Erwin Wurm, Thomas Zipp et al.

Sammlung Falckenberg / Deichtorhallen Hamburg, Hamburg-Harburg, 30/11/2019–30/8/2020